Georgia Association of Agricultural Fairs


The 2017 “Fairman of the year” was named at this year’s annual fair convention in Greenville, SC. The award went to Gerald D. Andrews of Sandersville, GA. Although Mr. Andrews could not be in attendance he and his family viewed the presentation via “Skype” while the audience watched him on a large projection screen.
Andrews began his agricultural career in Tifton, GA in 1955. He transferred to Washington County Georgia the following year as Assistant County Agricultural Agent and was promoted to County Extension Director in 1997. He led efforts to revive an agricultural and youth fair while president of his local Farm Bureau in 1998. Andrews worked diligently to make the local fair bigger and better for the next fourteen years. He was always looking for more ways to involve the community and youth in the fair. He formed a “Junior Fair Board” which was not just an honorary title, but rather involved the young people with their work and ideas to make the fair better. Each year an outstanding junior fair board member was recognized and awarded a $500.00 college scholarship.
Mr. Andrews has been a member of the Georgia Association of Agricultural Fairs since 1998 and was elected as Director of the Association in 2003. Since his retirement as Washington County Farm Bureau President, Gerald has been chief advisor to the Washington County Agricultural and Youth Fair as its managers strive to maintain the high standards Andrews set from the very beginning.The nomination
form can found by clicking here.


Past Fairman Of The Year Recepients

1990 Arthur Springer 1991 Marvin Long
1992 James Vinning 1993 Charles Inman
1994 Dale Thurman 1995 Dot Bailey
1996 Ted Pulsifer 1997 Hugh Snell
1998 J.R. "Jet" Russell 1999 Billy Becton
2000 Larry Thomas 2001 Dominic Vivona
2002 Hilda Thompson 2003 Wendell C. Griffin
2004 Bill Wages 2005 Tommy Tyler
2006 John P. Webb Jr. 2007 Ken Preston
2008 Darrell Colson 2009 Larry Griffin
2010 Joe Taylor 2011 Mike Zapata
2012 Skip Nichols 2013 Todd Miller
2014 Chris Hafer 2015 Ted Lane
 2016 Bud Owens